Snow Globes

***

Thinking outside of the box isn’t as fun as it sounds – most of the time.

It makes you lonely.

On nights like these, a small part of me is tempted to trade my point of view for a ticket to join ‘snow globe society’… and the perfect, ignorant environment mankind built.
Snow Globes.
Perfect miniature worlds.

I remember exactly when mine got shattered.
All the liquid, the glittery little particles, the make-believe gushed out of the remains of my former home. I desperately tried to piece it back together, but it wouldn’t work.
The door got slammed in my face.
I was locked out of fairy land and couldn’t get back in.

Most of the time, I don’t mind.
Most of the time, I am happy and thankful to be able to look at the bigger picture…
But sometimes, I have to admit, I am a little bit jealous.
I do understand the saying “Ignorance is Bliss”… it does make a lot of sense when you’ve been excluded from ‘snow globe society’.
Everything was a lot easier inside the snow globe… and once in a while, a small part of me still envies the snow globe residents. It’s cozy in there; deep thoughts and worries are muted. Life is more relaxed.

But life on the inside is surreal, too.
On nights like these, I try not to think of what I lost.
I try to think of what I gained – all the knowledge, the understanding, the necessary lessons… and I hope, that fighting every step of the way will one day be rewarded.

Someone once said to me, “Don’t be lonely.”
I try not to be.
It takes a lot of work.

*********************************
photo credits: http://www.flickr.com

4 responses to “Snow Globes

Care to share your thoughts?

