In the Line of Duty

CONTENT WARNING: This piece of writing contains strong language. For mature readers only.

power-of-words
— photo credits: iletaitunepub.net

“There isn’t much left to say between us.

The Keatons, that’s us.
Suburban home, two cars, one mailbox, no children, and one hell of  a mortgage.
My husband mows the lawn on every Saturday.
I tend to the rose bushes.

After being married for nine years, we barely acknowledge each other anymore.
We go through our routines, and hide beneath the perfectly safe shroud of long-term habit.
We function together – but keep apart.

Our weekly exchange of bodily fluids has long since turned methodical; he knows how to push my buttons, and vice versa.
Mediocre, at best.
I come.
He comes.
The ‘Duty-Fuck’… because, hey, we’re supposed to do it, right?

Afterwards, we watch TV.
He snores.
I do, too, sometimes.

There isn’t much left to say between us.

In the mornings, we sip coffee and read the paper. Sports section for him, Home & Culture for me.
In the evenings, we give ourselves over to mind-numbingly stupid TV shows. He hates them as much as I do, but they help to drown out the cacophony.

There isn’t much left to say between us.

I once said, “I do.”
I meant it with all my heart.

My heart must have abandoned me… somewhere, along the way.
Somewhere, between rose bushes and morning coffee.”

*************************************************************************************
Written for Picture it & Write over at ErmiliaBlog. Grab a pen and join the fun!

8 responses to “In the Line of Duty

  1. I picked this one to read first since you were my first comment. What an interesting surprise! I found this all very romantic. I don’t know if that was the intent. I thought really hard once about what I want most from a relationship and the answer was someone who is still by my side when I’m 70.

Care to share your thoughts?

