A Craptastic Holiday

RadarNelson (Rob) over at ‘Seasons of Insanity‘ invited me to his table and asked me to be his Guest-Blogger. Go check out his site – his unique style of writing (and swearing) always makes me smile… Thank you for the opportunity, Rob! Much appreciated!

… and for those too lazy to click, here’s what I came up with:

Once upon a time, there was a guy named Valentinus.
He lived in the days of the Roman Empire and was imprisoned for ministering to Christians (who were persecuted under the Romans) and performing weddings for soldiers who were forbidden to marry. Before his execution, he is said to have healed his jailer’s daughter and wrote “From your Valentine” as a farewell to her. Of course, they sent him to the afterlife.
What a happy little story.

Be honest – have you ever thought about the origins of Valentine’s Day? If you have, I suppose you’re one in a million.

8 Money Maker_WebI know it’s still a little early, but Valentine’s Day has been on my mind lately… or rather the annoyance (brewing inside of me) that comes along with it. I never understood what this particular day has to do with love and affection – it is simply about money.
Every year on February 14th, to the sound of money rolling in, big company bosses all around the globe relax in their leather chairs with a victorious glass of Cognac, laugh heartily and slap their bellies because we buy all the specially manufactured stuff made toΒ prove our love toΒ each other. Why not put a price tag on love? It is a great idea, brilliant in its simplicity.

We all know the scenario. Desperate men running through the streets, hoping to buy anything, that might tame the ‘Valentine’s Day Monster’ they have at home – and God forbid they don’t find a suitable present or forget to bring one altogether! One minute you’ve got a supposedly loving girl by your side, the next you’re sitting out on the curb while your clothes rain down on you in a colorful shower to the soundtrack of her “hysterical symphony”.
What a great day.
Love is in the fucking air.

-holy-crap-talking-hearts--1We, as a race, are stupid.
I am convinced.
Money still rules our planet and we even let it interfere with our love life.
How sad is this?

What is it that makes us feel the need to prove our love to each other on this “special” day?
Are we so insecure that we have to experience love in a materialistic way?
Are we so insecure that we have to reduce our relationships to the experience of superficial perfection in a certain time frame?

If materialism is what love gets reduced to nowadays, I will call myself a rebel and gladly boycott the unspoken rules of today’s “loving” society. Hopefully, I will not be alone.

I refuse to put a price tag on love.
I refuse to be told when and how I have to tell my loved ones that I do, indeed, love them.
On Valentine’s Day, I will not spend a single dime on anything supposedly ‘love-related’.
It’s fun and relaxing… come join me.

Side Note for the Girls:
If you still feel like celebrating your love on February 14th, at least get your man a six-pack of beer and some bedroom action – after all, he’s been sweating all day to please your loving needs.

That said:
everything

18 responses to “A Craptastic Holiday

  1. Well well well! What do we have here? Way to tap into your inner “bitcher”! I think it’s silly, but its also not that big of a deal here. Maybe that’s because I don’t have a girlfriend…

    But, most girls I know think its a silly Hallmark holiday. They bitch about other things!

Care to share your thoughts?

